Preach, Brothers and Sisters – 1 Corinthians 9:16-17

Hi Everyone!

In 1 Corinthians 9:16-17, Paul writes, “Yet when I preach the gospel, I cannot boast, since I am compelled to preach. Woe to me if I do not preach the gospel! If I preach voluntarily, I have a reward; if not voluntarily, I am simply discharging the trust committed to me.”

I wish I always saw myself in that verse, having the confidence that Paul did that he was doing what he was supposed to do. Even though he had that personal encounter with Jesus on the Damascus Road, even the disciples who were taught by Jesus in the flesh struggled to comprehend who He was and take firm hold of their calling.

No, I’m more like the Disciples in Matthew in the Great Commission passage. In verse 28:17, Matthew writes, “When they saw him (Jesus), they worshiped him; but some doubted.” He had returned to them as a risen savior after being crucified and after having performed so many miracles, but yet, some of them still didn’t believe. Personally, I have struggled mightily with what God has called me to do. I have wrestled with doubt, insecurity, and fear as I go nervously toward the ministry He has called me to birth.

God has called all believers in that Matthew passage to “go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” (verses 19-20). Some of us are called to be preachers and teachers, others have different callings, but all of us are called to “preach” the gospel according to our gifts. And as Paul said, whether we do so willingly or unwillingly, there is a blessing attached to our faithfulness.

Go and preach the Gospel to someone today. If necessary, use words. But preach the gospel according to your gifts, talents, and abilities. God will bless and honor your commitment to obedience.

How can I pray for you?

Peace.

T

One thought on “Preach, Brothers and Sisters – 1 Corinthians 9:16-17

  1. Pingback: Karan K. Gleddie

Leave a Reply

